CA Bus & Prof Code Section 8663


This section only applies to work conducted under a Branch 1 license.


The board or county agricultural commissioners, when acting pursuant to Section 8616.4, may levy a fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000) against a registered company acting as a prime contractor for any major violation committed by any licensee with whom the prime contractor has subcontracted if, before that violation occurred, the prime contractor had been notified by certified mail, return receipt requested, of more than two major violations committed by the subcontractor within 12 consecutive months. Fines collected pursuant to this section shall be paid to the Education and Enforcement Account in the Structural Pest Control Education and Enforcement Fund.


For purposes of this section, “major violation” means a violation of any of the following provisions of this code or of the California Code of Regulations that poses a serious hazard to humans:


A violation of subdivision (a) or (b) of Section 1970.4 of Title 16 of, or Section 6454 of Title 3 of, the California Code of Regulations, or a violation of Section 8505.5.


Any violation of the structural pest control law that results in a serious injury to any person.


A violation of Section 8505.2 or 8505.3, relating to direct and personal supervision.


A violation of Section 8505.7, relating to vacating and securing structures.


A violation of subdivision (a) of Section 6780 of Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations.


A violation of Section 6454 of Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations.


A violation of Section 8505.12, relating to warning agents.


A violation of Section 8505.9 or 8505.10, relating to warning signs.


A copy of a notice of violation issued for any violation committed by a subcontractor shall be sent by certified mail to the prime contractor by the issuing authority within 15 days from the date the violation was committed.


Notwithstanding subdivision (b), a prime contractor may be fined for a subcontractor’s first violation for failing to have a signed factsheet on the premises being treated, or if the subcontractor fails to provide advance notice of a treatment to the occupants of the premises being treated.
Last Updated

Aug. 19, 2023

§ 8663’s source at ca​.gov