CA Welf & Inst Code Section 16604


Except as provided in subdivision (b), counties shall spend a minimum of 20 percent of its allocated funds in each of the following categories, for a total of 80 percent:


Family support services.


Family preservation services.


Time-limited reunification services.


Adoption promotion and support services.


A county may be authorized to spend less than 20 percent of funds in one or more of the categories identified in subdivision (a) for a limited time period, provided that the department determines in writing that good cause exists for the county’s expenditures and determines the date by which the county shall fully comply with subdivision (a). The department may disallow a county’s claims for costs under this section if the county’s expenditure of funds, as specified in subdivision (a), does not conform to its approved county plan.


Counties may expend the remaining 20 percent of funds not expended pursuant to subdivision (a) and any funds identified in subdivision (b), for any of the categories identified in subdivision (a).
Last Updated

Aug. 19, 2023

§ 16604’s source at ca​.gov