CA Pub Res Code Section 5091.15


Except as provided in this section, no person shall, from November 1 of any year to May 30 of the next year or for a shorter time as determined by the department, park a vehicle in a designated parking area unless the vehicle displays a parking permit issued by the department. Overnight camping in a vehicle parked in a designated parking area may be authorized by the department when it determines that the use is for a recreational activity, is safe and prudent, and is of limited duration.


No parking permit shall be required under this section for a vehicle owned and operated by the United States, another state or political subdivision thereof, or by this state or by a city, county, district, or political subdivision thereof.


The fee for the issuance of a parking permit under this chapter shall be determined by the department. The department shall hold at least one public hearing and notify the Legislature at least 30 days prior to any proposal to change the fees.


A person who violates this section is guilty of an infraction punishable by a fine of seventy-five dollars ($75). Unless the peace officer issuing the citation witnesses the parking of the vehicle, a rebuttable presumption exists that a vehicle parked in violation of this section was parked by the registered owner of the vehicle. If the parking of the vehicle is witnessed by the peace officer, the operator of the vehicle is in violation of this section.


The department may negotiate reciprocity agreements with other states having similar programs if the agreements are in the best interests of the California SNO-PARK program.


The department may contract with appropriate agencies for law enforcement, including, but not limited to, the Department of the California Highway Patrol, the county sheriffs, and the United States Department of Agriculture Forest Service. Enforcement activities may be funded with moneys appropriated from the Winter Recreation Fund.
Last Updated

Aug. 19, 2023

§ 5091.15’s source at ca​.gov