California Public Resources Code
(a) For purposes of this section, “California tire fee” means the fee imposed pursuant to this section.
(b) (1)A person who purchases a new tire, as defined in subdivision (g), shall pay a California tire fee of one dollar and seventy-five cents ($1.75) per tire.
(2) The retail seller shall charge the retail purchaser the amount of the California tire fee as a charge that is separate from, and not included in, any other fee, charge, or other amount paid by the retail purchaser.
(3) The retail seller
shall collect the California tire fee from the retail purchaser at the time of sale and may retain 112 percent of the fee as reimbursement for any costs associated with the collection of the fee. The retail seller shall remit the remainder to the state on a quarterly schedule for deposit in the California Tire Recycling Management Fund, which is hereby created in the State Treasury.
(c) The department, or its agent authorized pursuant to Section 42882, shall be reimbursed for its costs of collection, auditing, and making refunds associated with the California Tire Recycling Management Fund, but not to exceed 3 percent of the total annual revenue deposited in the fund.
(d) The California tire fee
imposed pursuant to subdivision (b) shall be separately stated by the retail seller on the invoice given to the customer at the time of sale. Any other disposal or
transaction fee charged by the retail seller related to the tire purchase shall be identified separately from the California tire fee.
(e) A person or business who knowingly, or with reckless disregard, makes a false statement or representation in a document used to comply with this section is liable for a civil penalty for each violation or, for continuing violations, for each day that the violation continues. Liability under this section may be imposed in a civil action and shall not exceed twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) for each violation.
(f) In addition to the civil penalty that may be imposed pursuant to subdivision (e), the department may impose an administrative penalty in an amount not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each violation of a
separate provision or, for continuing violations, for each day that the violation continues, on a person who intentionally or negligently violates a permit, rule, regulation, standard, or requirement issued or adopted pursuant to this chapter. The department shall adopt regulations that specify the amount of the administrative penalty and the procedure for imposing an administrative penalty pursuant to this subdivision.
(g) For purposes of this section, “new tire” means a pneumatic or solid tire intended for use with onroad or off-road motor vehicles, motorized equipment, construction equipment, or farm equipment that is sold separately from the motorized equipment, or a new tire sold with a new or used motor vehicle, as defined in Section 42803.5, including the spare tire, construction equipment, or farm equipment. “New tire” does not
include retreaded, reused, or recycled tires.
(h) The California tire fee shall not be imposed on a tire sold with, or sold separately for use on, any of the following:
(1) A self-propelled wheelchair.
(2) A motorized tricycle or motorized quadricycle, as defined in Section 407 of the Vehicle Code.
(3) A vehicle that is similar to a motorized tricycle or motorized quadricycle and is designed to be operated by a person who, by reason of the person’s physical disability, is otherwise unable to move about as a pedestrian.
(i) This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 2024, and
as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that is enacted before January 1, 2024, deletes or extends that date.