CA Food & Agric Code Section 77430


There is in the state government the California Strawberry Commission. Except as provided in subdivision (d), the commission shall be composed of 13 producers, five shippers, five processors, and one public member.


Except as provided in subdivision (d), producers within the respective districts shall elect one member from District 1, two members from District 2, two members from District 3, two members from District 4, one member from District 5, and five members from District 6. Shippers and processors shall be elected by and from shippers and processors, respectively, on a statewide basis without reference to districts. The public member shall be appointed to the commission by the secretary from nominees recommended by the commission.


The secretary and other appropriate persons as determined by the commission shall be ex officio members of the commission.


The commission may modify the number of producers in each district, and shippers and processors who serve on the commission, and may elect producers, shippers, and processors to serve as members at large of the commission. The total number of producer, shipper, and processor members shall not exceed 32.
Last Updated

Aug. 19, 2023

§ 77430’s source at ca​.gov