California Civil Code

Sec. § 1812.607


Every auction company and auctioneer shall do all of the following:

(a)

Disclose his or her name, trade or business name, telephone number, and bond number in all advertising of auctions. A first violation of this subdivision is an infraction subject to a fine of fifty dollars ($50); a second violation is subject to a fine of seventy-five dollars ($75); and a third or subsequent violation is subject to a fine of one hundred dollars ($100). This section shall not apply to business cards, business stationery, or to any advertisement that does not specify an auction date.

(b)

Post a sign, the dimensions of which shall be at least 18 inches by 24 inches, at the main entrance to each auction, stating that the auction is being conducted in compliance with Section 2328 of the Commercial Code, Section 535 of the Penal Code, and the provisions of the California Civil Code. A first violation of this subdivision is an infraction subject to a fine of fifty dollars ($50); a second violation is subject to a fine of seventy-five dollars ($75); and a third or subsequent violation is subject to a fine of one hundred dollars ($100).

(c)

Post or distribute to the audience the terms, conditions, restrictions, and procedures whereby goods will be sold at the auction, and announce any changes to those terms, conditions, restrictions, and procedures prior to the beginning of the auction sale. A first violation of this subdivision is an infraction subject to a fine of fifty dollars ($50); a second violation is subject to a fine of one hundred dollars ($100); and a third or subsequent violation is subject to a fine of two hundred fifty dollars ($250).

(d)

Notify the Secretary of State of any change in address of record within 30 days of the change. A violation of this subdivision is an infraction subject to a fine of fifty dollars ($50).

(e)

Notify the Secretary of State of any change in the officers of a corporate license within 30 days of the change. A violation of this subdivision is an infraction subject to a fine of fifty dollars ($50).

(f)

Notify the Secretary of State of any change in the business or trade name of the auctioneer or auction company within 30 days of the change. A violation of this subdivision is an infraction subject to a fine of fifty dollars ($50).

(g)

Keep and maintain, at the auctioneer’s or auction company’s address of record, complete and correct records and accounts pertaining to the auctioneer’s or auction company’s activity for a period of not less than two years. The records shall include the name and address of the owner or consignor and of any buyer of goods at any auction sale engaged in or conducted by the auctioneer or auction company, a description of the goods, the terms and conditions of the acceptance and sale of the goods, all written contracts with owners and consignors, and accounts of all moneys received and paid out, whether on the auctioneer’s or auction company’s own behalf or as agent, as a result of those activities. A first violation of this subdivision is a misdemeanor subject to a fine of five hundred dollars ($500); and a second or subsequent violation is subject to a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000).

(h)

Within 30 working days after the sale transaction, provide, or cause to be provided, an account to the owner or consignor of all goods that are the subject of an auction engaged in or conducted by the auctioneer or auction company. A first violation of this subdivision is a misdemeanor subject to a fine of five hundred dollars ($500); and a second or subsequent violation is subject to a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000).

(i)

Within 30 working days after a sale transaction of goods, pay or cause to be paid all moneys and proceeds due to the owner or the consignor of all goods that were the subject of an auction engaged in or conducted by the auctioneer or auction company, unless delay is compelled by legal proceedings or the inability of the auctioneer or auction company, through no fault of his or her own, to transfer title to the goods or to comply with any provision of this chapter, the Commercial Code, or the Code of Civil Procedure, or with any other applicable provision of law. A first violation of this subdivision is a misdemeanor subject to a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000); a second violation is subject to a fine of one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500); and a third or subsequent violation is subject to a fine of two thousand dollars ($2,000).

(j)

Maintain the funds of all owners, consignors, buyers, and other clients and customers separate from his or her personal funds and accounts. A violation of this subdivision is an infraction subject to a fine of two hundred fifty dollars ($250).

(k)

Immediately prior to offering any item for sale, disclose to the audience the existence and amount of any liens or other encumbrances on the item, unless the item is sold as free and clear. For the purposes of this subdivision, an item is “free and clear” if all liens and encumbrances on the item are to be paid prior to the transfer of title. A violation of this subdivision is an infraction subject to a fine of two hundred fifty dollars ($250) in addition to the requirement that the buyer be refunded, upon demand, the amount paid for any item that is the subject of the violation.

(l)

Within two working days after an auction sale, return the blank check or deposit of each buyer who purchased no goods at the sale. A first violation of this subdivision is an infraction subject to a fine of one hundred dollars ($100); and a second or subsequent violation is subject to a fine of two hundred fifty dollars ($250).

(m)

Within 30 working days of any auction sale, refund that portion of the deposit of each buyer that exceeds the cost of the goods purchased, unless delay is compelled by legal proceedings or the inability of the auctioneer or auction company, through no fault of his or her own, to transfer title to the goods or to comply with any provision of this chapter, the Commercial Code, or the Code of Civil Procedure, or with other applicable provisions of law, or unless the buyer violated the terms of a written agreement that he or she take possession of purchased goods within a specified period of time. A first violation of this subdivision is an infraction subject to a fine of one hundred dollars ($100); and a second or subsequent violation is subject to a fine of two hundred fifty dollars ($250).
Source

Last accessed
Jun. 6, 2016