CA Bus & Prof Code Section 1903


(1)The committee shall consist of nine members appointed by the Governor. Four shall be public members, one member shall be a practicing general or public health dentist who holds a current license in California, and four members shall be registered dental hygienists who hold current licenses in California. Of the registered dental hygienists members, one shall be licensed either in alternative practice or in extended functions, one shall be a dental hygiene educator, and two shall be registered dental hygienists. No public member shall have been licensed under this chapter within five years of the date of his or her appointment or have any current financial interest in a dental-related business.


For purposes of this subdivision, a public health dentist is a dentist whose primary employer or place of employment is in any of the following:


A primary care clinic licensed under subdivision (a) of Section 1204 of the Health and Safety Code.


A primary care clinic exempt from licensure pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 1206 of the Health and Safety Code.


A clinic owned or operated by a public hospital or health system.


A clinic owned and operated by a hospital that maintains the primary contract with a county government to fill the county’s role under Section 17000 of the Welfare and Institutions Code.


(1)Except as specified in paragraph (2), members of the committee shall be appointed for a term of four years. Each member shall hold office until the appointment and qualification of his or her successor or until one year shall have lapsed since the expiration of the term for which he or she was appointed, whichever comes first.


For the term commencing on January 1, 2012, two of the public members, the general or public health dentist member, and two of the registered dental hygienist members, other than the dental hygiene educator member or the registered dental hygienist member licensed in alternative practice or in extended functions, shall each serve a term of two years, expiring January 1, 2014.


Notwithstanding any other provision of law and subject to subdivision (e), the Governor may appoint to the committee a person who previously served as a member of the committee even if his or her previous term expired.


The committee shall elect a president, a vice president, and a secretary from its membership.


No person shall serve as a member of the committee for more than two consecutive terms.


A vacancy in the committee shall be filled by appointment to the unexpired term.


Each member of the committee shall receive a per diem and expenses as provided in Section 103.


The Governor shall have the power to remove any member from the committee for neglect of a duty required by law, for incompetence, or for unprofessional or dishonorable conduct.


The committee, with the approval of the director, may appoint a person exempt from civil service who shall be designated as an executive officer and who shall exercise the powers and perform the duties delegated by the committee and vested in him or her by this article.


This section shall remain in effect only until January 1, 2019, and as of that date is repealed, unless a later enacted statute, that is enacted before January 1, 2019, deletes or extends that date.
Last Updated

Aug. 19, 2023

§ 1903’s source at ca​.gov